Magic Mittens

It’s time for a quick story about mittens.

I receive posts from Lion Brand yarns.  Back when this post was released I was early in on my journey.  You know, back when I actually believed it would end positively.  By the way, I started this journey on Dec 7, 2007 so I’m sure it’s understandable why I’m negative about the outcome.

Anyway, I thought the mittens were beautiful so proceeded to make them with a soft ball of yarn I bought in Toronto.

I liked the line in the post where the author says her dad carried them around during the war because he believed they kept him safe.  When I finished them I thought they would be my talisman while I became pregnant and then my future baby would wear them.

I stuck them in my purse and carried them with me for over a year.  I finally took them out of my purse after my second miscarriage because I was sure they were probably bad luck for me.  I couldn’t decide what to do with them.  I didn’t want to donate them or give them away because I was worried them might cause someone else’s baby to die too.  Surprisingly I didn’t throw them out.

They crossed my mind the night before my saline infused sonogram in early Nov.  I was actually in bed but got out of bed and dug them out of the closet and put them back in my purse.  I’m not sure what drove me to get them.  I sort of recall rationalizing that they must have brought me luck because the only times I got pregnant was when I carried them and when I didn’t…

And so again I carry a little pair of mitts in my purse.  I hope they can bring good luck on my next cycle whenever that may be.


4 thoughts on “Magic Mittens

I like comments so please leave one.

